Ann Harris Bennett
Tax Assessor-Collector & Voter Registrar
Due to the July 4th holiday, there will be no Harris County Constable's Auction in the month of July.

Alcoholic Beverage License and Permits

The alcoholic beverage industry in Texas is regulated by The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC).You can find The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code and Rules at http://www.tabc.state.tx.us/laws/code_and_rules.asp.

Rules related specifically to Tax Collector Billings for beer, wine and liquor licenses can also be found on the TABC website at: http://www.tabc.state.tx.us/licensing/rules_tax_collectors_billings.asp.

Beer and Wine

Collection of fees for establishments serving beer and wine within Harris County is governed by Title 3, Subtitle B - Chapter 61, Subchapter A - Section 61.36 of the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code, which states that:“(a)The governing body of an incorporated city or town may levy and collect a fee not to exceed one-half of the state fee for each license, except a temporary or agent's beer license, issued for premises located within the city or town. The commissioner’s court of a county may levy and collect a fee equal to one-half the state fee for each license, except a temporary or agent's beer license, issued for premises located within the county...”

Beer and Wine - New Applicant

Applications for Beer and Wine Licenses are available from the TABC at: P.O. Box 13127, Austin, Texas 78711. Your local office, which is listed on the TABC website, will advise you how to begin the process.

Beer and Wine - Renewal

In order for the Tax Office to process your license renewal you must provide payment in the form of cash, check, cashier’s check or money order to one of the addresses below.

Renewals by mail should be addressed to:

Ann Harris Bennett, Tax Assessor-Collector & Voter Registrar
Attn: Beer & Wine
P.O. Box 4663
Houston, Texas 77210-4663
To submit in person, go to:

Harris County Tax Office
1001 Preston, 1st floor
cashier windows 15-19

Please do not send cash by mail. Checks and money orders should be made payable to ‘Ann Harris Bennett Tax Assessor-Collector & Voter Registrar’.

Following is the fee chart associated with your county beer and wine license:

Beer LicensesCounty Fee
(BF) Beer Retailer's Off Premise License $60.00
(BE) Beer Retailer's Off Premise License (New) $1,000.00
(BE) Beer Retailer's Off Premise License (Renewal) $750.00
(BG) Wine and Beer Retailer's Permit (New) $1,000.00
(BG) Wine and Beer Retailer's Permit (Renewal) $750.00
(BQ) Wine and Beer Retailer's Off Premise Permit $60.00
(BL) Retail Dealer's On Premise Late Hours License $250.00
(BP) Brewpub License $500.00
(BB) General Distributor's License $300.00
(BC) Branch Distributor's License $75.00
(BD) Local Distributor's License $75.00
(BI) Importer's License $20.00
(BJ) Importer's Carrier's License $20.00
(BA) Manufacturer's License
1st Est. $750.00
2nd Est. $1,500.00
3rd, 4th, & 5th Est. $4,275.00
Excess of 5 Est. $8,400.00
(MW) Manufacturer's Warehouse License $300.00

Beer and Wine Licenses cannot be renewed earlier than 30 days before the renewal date.

Please call our office at (713) 274-8150 with any questions concerning license renewal.

Liquor

Permits for establishments that serve liquor within Harris County is governed by Title 3, Subtitle A - Chapter 11, Subchapter A - Section 11.38, of the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code, which states that: “(a) The governing body of a city or town may levy and collect a fee not to exceed one-half the state fee for each permit issued for premises located within the city or town. The commissioners court of a county may levy and collect a fee equal to one-half of the state fee for each permit issued for premises located within the county.. .”

Liquor- New Applicant

Applications for liquor licenses are available from the TABC at P.O. Box 13127, Austin, Texas 78711.Your local office, which is listed on the TABC website, will advise you how to begin the application process.

Liquor- Renewal

Renewals for the Harris County permit can be processed by mail, or in person at the downtown location.

Renewals by mail should be addressed to:

Ann Harris Bennett, Tax Assessor-Collector & Voter Registrar
Attn: Beer & Wine
P.O. Box 4663
Houston, Texas 77210-4663
To submit in person, go to:

Harris County Tax Office
1001 Preston, 1st floor
cashier windows 15-19

In order for the Tax Office to process your request, you must provide payment in the form of cash, check, cashier’s check or money order.

Note: Checks and money orders should be made payable to ‘Ann Harris Bennett Tax Assessor-Collector & Voter Registrar’. Please do not send cash by mail.

Please call our office at (713) 274-8150 with any questions concerning license renewal.

The county fee is equal to one-half the state permit fee, as authorized by Alcoholic Beverage Code, Section 11.38a. Following is a fee chart associated with your county liquor permit

Liquor PermitsCounty FeeLiquor PermitsCounty Fee
(PE) Beverage Cartage Permit$10.00(P) Package Store Permit$250.00
(J) Bonded Warehouse Permit$75.00(PS) Package Store Tasting Permit$12.50
(B) Brewer's Permit$750.00(Q) Wine Only Package Store$37.50
(CB) Caterer's Permit$250.00(W) Wholesaler's Permit$937.50
(D) Distiller's & Rectifier's Permit$750.00(X) General Class B Wholesaler's Permit$150.00
(LP) Local Distributor's Permit$50.00(LX) Local Class B Wholesaler's Permit$37.50
(LI) Local Industrial Alcohol Manufacturer's Permit$50.00(V) Wine & Beer Retailer's- Excursion Boat$65.00
(MI) Mini Bar Permit *** (Z) Wine Bottler's Permit$112.50
(MR) Market Research Packager's Permit$50.00(G) Winery Permit$37.50
(MB) Mixed Beverage Permit *** (GF) Winery Festival Permit$25.00
(LB) Mixed Beverage Late Hours$75.00(RM) Mixed Beverage Permit with FB ***

*** Please call (713) 274-8150 to inquire about MI, MB, and RM liquor permit fee.